supp.fit

Vitamin B12: study protocols

81 study groups say how much Vitamin B12 participants took a day. These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.

Vitamin B12: what the research found →

Dose per serving from products

20,396 products in our catalogue print how much Vitamin B12 a serving holds.

Most common: 5 mcg to 10 mcg, 16% of 20,396 products.

Dose per servingProducts
1 mcg or less
665
1 mcg to 2.5 mcg
3,169
2.5 mcg to 5 mcg
1,806
5 mcg to 10 mcg
3,262
10 mcg to 25 mcg
2,349
25 mcg to 50 mcg
1,591
50 mcg to 100 mcg
1,849
100 mcg to 250 mcg
1,294
250 mcg to 500 mcg
1,295
500 mcg to 1 mg
1,283
1 mg to 2.5 mg
721
2.5 mg to 5 mg
515
over 5 mg
597

Dose per serving from research

81 study groups in 58 studies say how much Vitamin B12 participants took a day.

These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.

Most common: 250 mcg to 500 mcg, 25% of 81 study groups.

Daily doseStudy groups
1 mcg to 2.5 mcg
13
2.5 mcg to 5 mcg
7
5 mcg to 10 mcg
10
10 mcg to 25 mcg
2
25 mcg to 50 mcg
5
50 mcg to 100 mcg
1
100 mcg to 250 mcg
1
250 mcg to 500 mcg
20
500 mcg to 1 mg
15
1 mg to 2.5 mg
5
over 2.5 mg
2

Commonly used together

57 of 81 study groups took Vitamin B12 with something else. Shown: what 3 or more different studies gave. The 10 most common of 14.

What was given together, not what works together.

Taken withStudy groups
Folic Acid
51
Vitamin B6
36
Iron
12
Riboflavin
9
Vitamin C
8
Thiamine
7
Vitamin A
7
Vitamin E
7
Vitamin D
6
Zinc
6

81 study groups

Study
Effect of methylcobalamin on capecitabine induced hand-foot syndrome in patients with HER2 negative early breast cancer: multicentre, double blind, randomised, placebo controlled, phase 3 trial
2025 · methylcobalamin group · Women aged 18–75 with HER2-negative early breast cancer receiving adjuvant capecitabine
1.5 mg24 weeks117
Study of the effectiveness of additional reductions in cholesterol and homocysteine (SEARCH): characteristics of a randomized trial among 12064 myocardial infarction survivors
2007 · Homocysteine-lowering group · Myocardial infarction survivors
1 mg6 years—
Effective treatment of cobalamin deficiency with oral cobalamin
1998 · Oral group · Newly diagnosed patients with cobalamin deficiency; age and sex not reported
2 mg120 days18
High-dose Vitamin B6 supplementation reduces anxiety and strengthens visual surround suppression
2022 · Vitamin B12 group · Adults aged 18–58 years, mainly young students; no diagnosed condition specified
1 mg5 weeks—
Antiplatelet therapy and the effects of B vitamins in patients with previous stroke or transient ischaemic attack: a post-hoc subanalysis of VITATOPS, a randomised, placebo-controlled trial
2012 · B-vitamins group · Adults with a stroke or transient ischaemic attack within the previous 7 months; men and women, age not restricted
500 mcg1241 days4,040
Folic acid, pyridoxine, and cyanocobalamin combination treatment and age-related macular degeneration in women: the Women's Antioxidant and Folic Acid Cardiovascular Study
2009 · folic acid/B6/B12 group · Women at high risk of cardiovascular disease, with preexisting cardiovascular disease or at least three coronary risk factors; women included in these AMD analyses had no AMD diagnosis at baseline.
1 mg2665 days2,607
Effect of combined folic acid, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 on cancer risk in women: a randomized trial
2008 · combined folic acid/vitamin B6/vitamin B12 treatment · Women aged 40 years or older with a history of cardiovascular disease or at least three coronary risk factors
1 mg2666 days—
Homocysteine-lowering therapy and stroke risk, severity, and disability: additional findings from the HOPE 2 trial
2009 · vitamin therapy group · Adults with known cardiovascular disease
1 mg5 years—
Folic Acid and Vitamin B12 Supplementation and the Risk of Cancer: Long-term Follow-up of the B Vitamins for the Prevention of Osteoporotic Fractures (B-PROOF) Trial
2019 · B vitamins · B-PROOF trial participants; age and specific condition not stated in the abstract
500 mcg3 years—
Diclofenac plus B vitamins versus diclofenac monotherapy in lumbago: the DOLOR study
2009 · Group DB (combination therapy) · Adults with acute lumbago
2 mg7 days187