supp.fit

Vitamin E and Vitamin C: study protocols

47 study groups took Vitamin E together with Vitamin C. These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.

Vitamin E: what the research found →

Dose per serving from research: Vitamin E

25 study groups in 20 studies say how much Vitamin E participants took a day.

These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.

Most common: 25 mg to 50 mg, 40% of 25 study groups.

Daily doseStudy groups
2.5 mg or less
2
2.5 mg to 5 mg
1
5 mg to 10 mg
2
10 mg to 25 mg
6
25 mg to 50 mg
10
50 mg to 100 mg
1
100 mg to 250 mg
2
over 250 mg
1

Dose per serving from research: Vitamin C

47 study groups in 32 studies say how much Vitamin C participants took a day.

These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.

Most common: 250 mg to 500 mg, 40% of 47 study groups.

Daily doseStudy groups
50 mg or less
2
50 mg to 100 mg
7
100 mg to 250 mg
11
250 mg to 500 mg
19
500 mg to 1 g
7
over 1 g
1

Commonly used together

39 of 47 study groups took Vitamin E and Vitamin C with something else. Shown: what 3 or more different studies gave. The 10 most common of 11.

What was given together, not what works together.

Taken withStudy groups
Zinc
23
Beta-Carotene
21
Selenium
13
Copper
11
Vitamin A
7
Folic Acid
6
Vitamin B12
6
Iron
5
Vitamin B6
5
Iodine
3

47 study groups

Study
Antioxidant Supplementation in Atherosclerosis Prevention (ASAP) study: a randomized trial of the effect of vitamins E and C on 3-year progression of carotid atherosclerosis
2000 · combination of vitamins E and C · Smoking and nonsmoking men and postmenopausal women aged 45–69 years with serum cholesterol ≥5.0 mmol/L
182 mg500 mg3 years—
Supplementing vitamins C and E to standard triple therapy for the eradication of Helicobacter pylori
2012 · Group A · Patients with Helicobacter pylori infection
400 IU1 g30 days160
Supplementing vitamins C and E to standard triple therapy for the eradication of Helicobacter pylori
2012 · Group A · Patients with Helicobacter pylori infection
400 IU1 g30 days160
Effect of antioxidants on the occurrence of pre-eclampsia in women at increased risk: a randomised trial
1999 · vitamin group · Women at increased risk of pre-eclampsia, enrolled at 16–22 weeks’ gestation
400 IU1 g—141
A randomized controlled trial to prevent post-operative atrial fibrillation by antioxidant reinforcement
2013 · supplemented group · Patients scheduled for on-pump cardiac surgery; age and sex not specified
400 IU1 g—103
Oxidative stress in Helicobacter pylori infection: does supplementation with vitamins C and E increase the eradication rate?
2009 · group B · Patients with Helicobacter pylori infection; age range and sex not reported
400 IU1 g30 days80
A randomized, placebo-controlled, clinical trial of high-dose supplementation with vitamins C and E, beta carotene, and zinc for age-related macular degeneration and vision loss: AREDS report no. 8
2001 · Antioxidants · Adults aged 55–80 with age-related macular degeneration Categories 2–4 and visual acuity of 20/32 or better in at least one eye
400 IU500 mg8 years—
Associations of mortality with ocular disorders and an intervention of high-dose antioxidants and zinc in the Age-Related Eye Disease Study: AREDS Report No. 13
2004 · antioxidants alone · Adults aged 55–81 years with age-related macular degeneration categories 1–4 or other AREDS ocular eligibility; participants in AMD categories 2–4 were eligible for this arm, and category 1 participants could also receive antioxidants
400 IU500 mg339 weeks—
Antioxidant effects of combined vitamins C and E in acute myocardial infarction. The randomized, double-blind, placebo controlled, multicenter pilot Myocardial Infarction and VITamins (MIVIT) trial
2005 · antioxidant vitamins · Adults with acute myocardial infarction; mean age 62 years
600 mg1.2 g30 days—
Long-term effects of vitamins C and E, β-carotene, and zinc on age-related macular degeneration: AREDS report no. 35
2013 · Antioxidants · Adults aged 55–80 with age-related macular degeneration (AREDS categories 1–4)
400 IU500 mg339 weeks—
Vitamin E and Vitamin C: study protocols | supp.fit