Zinc, Vitamin D, Vitamin A, Vitamin C and Iron: study protocols
11 study groups took Zinc together with Vitamin D, Vitamin A, Vitamin C and Iron. These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Dose per serving from research: Zinc
11 study groups in 10 studies say how much Zinc participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 5 mg to 10 mg, 36% of 11 study groups.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 5 mg or less | 1 |
| 5 mg to 10 mg | 4 |
| 10 mg to 25 mg | 3 |
| 25 mg to 50 mg | 3 |
Dose per serving from research: Vitamin D
6 study groups in 6 studies say how much Vitamin D participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 2.5 mcg to 5 mcg, 83% of 6 study groups.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 2.5 mcg to 5 mcg | 5 |
| 5 mcg to 10 mcg | 1 |
Dose per serving from research: Vitamin A
6 study groups in 5 studies say how much Vitamin A participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 500 mcg to 1 mg, 67% of 6 study groups.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 500 mcg to 1 mg | 4 |
| 1 mg to 2.5 mg | 2 |
Dose per serving from research: Vitamin C
8 study groups in 7 studies say how much Vitamin C participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 25 mg to 50 mg and 50 mg to 100 mg, 38% of 8 study groups each.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 25 mg to 50 mg | 3 |
| 50 mg to 100 mg | 3 |
| 100 mg to 250 mg | 2 |
Dose per serving from research: Iron
8 study groups in 7 studies say how much Iron participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 5 mg to 10 mg and 10 mg to 25 mg and 25 mg to 50 mg and 50 mg to 100 mg, 25% of 8 study groups each.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 5 mg to 10 mg | 2 |
| 10 mg to 25 mg | 2 |
| 25 mg to 50 mg | 2 |
| 50 mg to 100 mg | 2 |
Commonly used together
11 of 11 study groups took Zinc, Vitamin D, Vitamin A, Vitamin C and Iron with something else. Shown: what 3 or more different studies gave. The 10 most common of 13.
What was given together, not what works together.
| Taken with | Study groups |
|---|---|
| Copper | 9 |
| Vitamin E | 9 |
| Iodine | 8 |
| Folic Acid | 7 |
| Niacin | 7 |
| Vitamin B12 | 7 |
| Selenium | 6 |
| Vitamin B6 | 6 |
| Folate | 4 |
| Riboflavin | 4 |
11 study groups
| Study | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Effects of multimicronutrient supplementation on helminth reinfection: a randomized, controlled trial in Kenyan schoolchildren 2003 · multimicronutrient supplementation · Schoolchildren in Nyanza Province, Kenya; age and sex not specified | 20 mg | 5 mcg | 1 mg | 50 mg | 18 mg | 335 days | — |
| Effects of maternal micronutrient supplementation on fetal loss and infant mortality: a cluster-randomized trial in Nepal 2003 · Multiple micronutrients · Pregnant women in rural Nepal | 30 mg | 10 mcg | 1 mg | 100 mg | — | — | — |
| Effect of micronutrient supplementation on diarrhoeal disease among stunted children in rural South Africa 2009 · multiple micronutrients · children aged 6–24 months; three cohorts: HIV-infected children, HIV-uninfected children born to HIV-infected mothers, and HIV-uninfected children born to HIV-uninfected mothers | 10 mg | 5 mcg | 1,250 IU | 35 mg | 10 mg | 548 days | — |
| Effect of preventive supplementation with zinc and other micronutrients on non-malarial morbidity in Tanzanian pre-school children: a randomized trial 2012 · Multi-nutrients with zinc · Children aged 6–60 months with height-for-age z-score ≤−1.5 SD, in rural Tanzania | 10 mg | — | — | — | — | — | 151 |
| Effect on longitudinal growth and anemia of zinc or multiple micronutrients added to vitamin A: a randomized controlled trial in children aged 6-24 months 2010 · Multiple micronutrients · Children enrolled at 6 months and followed to 24 months in rural South Africa; HIV-infected and HIV-uninfected children, both sexes | 10 mg | 5 mcg | 1,250 IU | 35 mg | 10 mg | 548 days | 126 |
| Antenatal Multiple Micronutrient Supplementation Compared to Iron-Folic Acid Affects Micronutrient Status but Does Not Eliminate Deficiencies in a Randomized Controlled Trial Among Pregnant Women of Rural Bangladesh 2019 · MM · Pregnant women aged 12–45 years in rural Bangladesh | 12 mg | 5 mcg | 770 mcg | 85 mg | 27 mg | 165 days | 749 |
| Newborn micronutrient status biomarkers in a cluster-randomized trial of antenatal multiple micronutrient compared with iron folic acid supplementation in rural Bangladesh 2020 · MM · Pregnant women in rural Bangladesh; age range not specified; no disease condition specified | 12 mg | 5 mcg | 770 mcg | 85 mg | 27 mg | — | 176 |
| mRNA Levels of Placental Iron and Zinc Transporter Genes Are Upregulated in Gambian Women with Low Iron and Zinc Status 2017 · MMN group · Pregnant women aged 18–45 years with singleton pregnancies under 20 weeks in rural Gambia | 30 mg | 400 IU | 1.6 mg | 140 mg | 60 mg | 184 days | 75 |
| mRNA Levels of Placental Iron and Zinc Transporter Genes Are Upregulated in Gambian Women with Low Iron and Zinc Status 2017 · PE+MMN group · Pregnant women aged 18–45 years with singleton pregnancies under 20 weeks in rural Gambia | 30 mg | 400 IU | 1.6 mg | 140 mg | 60 mg | 184 days | 75 |
| Double-blind, placebo-controlled trial comparing effects of supplementation of two micronutrient sprinkles on fatty acid status in Cambodian infants 2007 · mineral/micronutrient (MMN) · Cambodian infants aged 6 months at enrolment | 5 mg | — | — | — | 12.5 mg | 1 year | 68 |
| Micronutrient supplements can promote disruptive protozoan and fungal communities in the developing infant gut 2021 · MNP with zinc · Children enrolled at 6 months of age in Pakistan; included undernourished and reference weight-for-length groups | 10 mg | — | — | — | — | 1 year | 889 |