Boron: study protocols
11 study groups say how much Boron participants took a day. These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Dose per serving from products
3,866 products in our catalogue print how much Boron a serving holds.
Most common: 500 mcg to 1 mg, 25% of 3,866 products.
| Dose per serving | Products |
|---|---|
| 50 mcg or less | 126 |
| 50 mcg to 100 mcg | 72 |
| 100 mcg to 250 mcg | 535 |
| 250 mcg to 500 mcg | 384 |
| 500 mcg to 1 mg | 968 |
| 1 mg to 2.5 mg | 665 |
| 2.5 mg to 5 mg | 661 |
| 5 mg to 10 mg | 360 |
| over 10 mg | 95 |
Dose per serving from research
11 study groups in 7 studies say how much Boron participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 2.5 mg to 5 mg, 45% of 11 study groups.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 1 mg or less | 1 |
| 1 mg to 2.5 mg | 0 |
| 2.5 mg to 5 mg | 5 |
| 5 mg to 10 mg | 4 |
| 10 mg to 25 mg | 1 |
Commonly used together
3 of 11 study groups took Boron with something else, but nothing that 3 or more different studies gave.
11 study groups
| Study | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Dietary boron, brain function, and cognitive performance 1994 · Studies II and III: boron repletion · Healthy older adults aged 44–69 years in Study II and 49–61 years in Study III; men and postmenopausal women | 3 mg | 7 weeks | 28 |
| Dietary boron, brain function, and cognitive performance 1994 · Study I: boron supplementation, without magnesium supplementation · Postmenopausal women aged 50–78 years in good health | 3 mg | 6 weeks | 13 |
| A Comparison of Boron Supplement and Tamsulosin as Medical Expulsive Therapy for Urinary Stones After Extracorporeal Shock Wave Lithotripsy: a Randomized Controlled Clinical Trial 2023 · boron supplement group · Patients with urinary stones after extracorporeal shock wave lithotripsy (ESWL); age and sex not reported | 20 mg | 2 weeks | 89 |
| Effects of boron supplementation on the severity and duration of pain in primary dysmenorrhea 2015 · case group · Female university students with primary dysmenorrhea | 10 mg | — | 58 |
| Possible therapeutic effects of boron citrate and oleoylethanolamide supplementation in patients with COVID-19: A pilot randomized, double-blind, clinical trial 2022 · Boron · Adults with PCR- or chest-CT-confirmed COVID-19; adult age range and sex not otherwise specified | 10 mg | 2 weeks | 10 |
| Essentiality of boron for healthy bones and joints 1994 · Boron group · Adults under 75 with radiographically confirmed osteoarthritis and arthritis symptoms for fewer than 10 years; sex not specified | 6 mg | 8 weeks | 10 |
| Effects of boron supplementation on bone mineral density and dietary, blood, and urinary calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, and boron in female athletes 1994 · athletic subjects receiving boron · female college athletes | 3 mg | 300 days | 10 |
| Effects of boron supplementation on bone mineral density and dietary, blood, and urinary calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, and boron in female athletes 1994 · sedentary subjects receiving boron · sedentary female college students | 3 mg | 300 days | 6 |
| Possible therapeutic effects of boron citrate and oleoylethanolamide supplementation in patients with COVID-19: A pilot randomized, double-blind, clinical trial 2022 · Boron + OEA · Adults with PCR- or chest-CT-confirmed COVID-19; adult age range and sex not otherwise specified | 10 mg | 2 weeks | 10 |
| [Vitrum osteomag in prevention of osteoporosis in postmenopausal women: results of the comparative open multicenter trial] 2004 · Group 1: Vitrum Osteomag · Postmenopausal women with osteopenia; age range not reported | 500 mcg | 1 year | 125 |
| Dietary boron, brain function, and cognitive performance 1994 · Study I: boron and magnesium supplementation · Postmenopausal women aged 50–78 years in good health | 3 mg | 6 weeks | 13 |