Acetyl-L-Carnitine: study protocols
6 study groups say how much Acetyl-L-Carnitine participants took a day. These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Dose per serving from products
696 products in our catalogue print how much Acetyl-L-Carnitine a serving holds.
Most common: 250 mg to 500 mg, 35% of 696 products.
| Dose per serving | Products |
|---|---|
| 25 mg or less | 26 |
| 25 mg to 50 mg | 28 |
| 50 mg to 100 mg | 105 |
| 100 mg to 250 mg | 99 |
| 250 mg to 500 mg | 241 |
| 500 mg to 1 g | 155 |
| 1 g to 2.5 g | 40 |
| over 2.5 g | 2 |
Dose per serving from research
6 study groups in 5 studies say how much Acetyl-L-Carnitine participants took a day.
These are the doses the studies gave. They are not a recommendation.
Most common: 2.5 g to 5 g, 50% of 6 study groups.
| Daily dose | Study groups |
|---|---|
| 500 mg or less | 1 |
| 500 mg to 1 g | 1 |
| 1 g to 2.5 g | 1 |
| 2.5 g to 5 g | 3 |
Commonly used together
None of these 6 study groups took Acetyl-L-Carnitine with anything else.
6 study groups
| Study | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of acetyl-L-carnitine for ALS 2013 · ALC · Adults aged 40–70 with definite or probable amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), disease duration 6–24 months, self-sufficient, and forced vital capacity greater than 80% | 3 g | 48 weeks | 42 |
| Clinical Evidence of Acetyl-L-Carnitine Efficacy in the Treatment of Acute Ischemic Stroke: A Pilot Clinical Trial 2022 · ALC-treated group · Adults over 18 years, men and women, with a first-ever acute ischemic stroke and measurable neurological deficit, not eligible for thrombolysis or mechanical thrombectomy | 3 g | 3 days | 34 |
| Two-Year Trends of Taxane-Induced Neuropathy in Women Enrolled in a Randomized Trial of Acetyl-L-Carnitine (SWOG S0715) 2018 · ALC arm · Women undergoing adjuvant taxane-based chemotherapy for breast cancer | 3 g | 24 weeks | — |
| Acetyl-L-carnitine (levacecarnine) in the treatment of diabetic neuropathy. A long-term, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study 2002 · LAC group · Patients with diabetic neuropathy; age and sex not reported | 2 g | 1 year | — |
| Acetyl-L-carnitine improves pain, nerve regeneration, and vibratory perception in patients with chronic diabetic neuropathy: an analysis of two randomized placebo-controlled trials 2005 · 500 mg/day t.i.d. · Patients with established diabetic neuropathy; age and sex not specified | 500 mg | 52 weeks | — |
| Acetyl-L-carnitine improves pain, nerve regeneration, and vibratory perception in patients with chronic diabetic neuropathy: an analysis of two randomized placebo-controlled trials 2005 · 1,000 mg/day t.i.d. · Patients with established diabetic neuropathy; age and sex not specified | 1 g | 52 weeks | — |